These pages have been designed using Internet Explorer - they may not display correctly in other Browsers.

The Churchill Society

Experts on tap - not on top!

Winston Churchill.



Search the web site.

The History of the EEC.

1946 19th September
Churchill delivers Zurich Speech

9th May
in a speech inspired by Jean Monnet, Robert Schuman, the French Foreign Minister, proposes that France, the Federal Republic of Germany and any other European country wishing to join them should pool their coal and steel resources.
1951 18th April
The Six sign the Treaty establishing the Euro-
pean Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) in Paris.

1952 27th May
The Treaty establishing the European Defence Community (EDC) is signed in Paris.

30th August
The French Parliament rejects the EDC Treaty.

23rd October
Following the London Conference, agreements on a modified Brussels Treaty are signed in Paris and the Western European Union (WEU) comes into being.

1955 1-2 June
The Foreign Ministers of the Six, meeting in Messina, decide to extend European integration to all branches of the economy.

1957 25 March
The Treaties establishing the European Economic Community and the European

Atomic Energy Community are signed in Rome.

1st January
The Treaties of Rome enter into force and the EEC and Eura.tom Commissions are set up in Brussels.

1960 4th January
The Stockholm Convention establishing the European Free Trade Association is signed on the initiative of the United Kingdom.

1962 30th July
The common agricultural policy is introduced.

1963 14th January
General de Gaulle announces at a press conference that France will veto the United Kingdom's accession to the Community.

20th July
An association agreement is signed between the Community and 18 African countries in Yenned

1965 8th April
A Treaty merging the executives of the three Communities is signed in Brussels. It enters into force on 1 July 1967.

1966 29th January
The 'Luxembourg compromise' is agreed, France resuming its seat in the Council in return for retention of the unanimity requirement where very important interests are at stake.

1968 1st July
Remaining customs duties in intra-Community trade in manufactured goods are abolished 18 months ahead of schedule and the Common External Tariff (CUT) is introduced.

1969 stunned December
At the Hague Summit the Community's Heads of State or Government decide to bring the transitional period to an end by adopting definitive arrangements for the common agricultural policy and agreeing in principle to give the Community its own resources.

1970 23rd April
A Treaty providing for the gradual introduction of an own resources system is signed in Luxembourg. It also extends the budgetary powers of the European Parliament.

20th June
Negotiations with four prospective Member States (Denmark, Ireland, Norway and the United Kingdom) open in Luxembourg.

1972 23rd January
The Treaty on the Accession of Denmark, Ireland, Norway and the United Kingdom is signed in Brussels.

24th April
The currency 'snake' is set up, the Six agree-
ing to limit the margin of fluctuation between their currencies to 2.25%.

25 September
Norway withdraws following a referendum.

1974 9-10 December
At the Paris Summit the Community's Heads of State or Government decide to meet three times a year as the European Council, give the go-ahead for direct elections to the European Parliament and agree to set up the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF)

1975 28th February
A first Convention between the Community and 46 States in Africa, the Caribbean and the Pacific is signed in Lomé.

22 July
A Treaty giving the European Parliament wider budgetary powers and establishing a Court of Auditors is signed. It enters into force on I June 1977

1978 6-7 July
At the Bremen European Council, France and the Federal Republic of Germany present a scheme for closer monetary cooperation (the European Monetary System) to replace the currency 'snake'

1979 13 March
The EMS starts to operate.

28 May The Treaty on the Accession of Greece is signed.

10 June
The first direct elections to the European Parliament are held.

31st October
A second Convention between the Community and 58 States in Africa,the Caribbean and the Pacific is signed in Lomé.

1984 28th February
The 'Esprit' programme for research and development in information technology is adopted.

1985 2nd-4th December
At the Luxembourg European Council the Ten agree to amend the Treaty of Rome and to revitalise the process of European integration by drawing up a 'Single European Act'.

1986 1st January
Spain and Portugal join the Community.

18 February
The Single European Act is signed in Luxembourg.

1987 14 April
Turkey applies to join the Community.

1 July
The Single Act enters into force.

26 October
The WEU adopts a joint defence policy platform in The Hague.

1988 25 June
A Joint Declaration on the establishment of relations and future cooperation between the Community and Comecon is signed in Luxembourg.

1989 January
Jacques Delors is reappointed President of the Commission for a further four years.

18 June
Direct elections to the European Parliament are held for the third time.

17 July
Austria applies to join the Community.

9 November
The Berlin Wall collapses.

9 December
The Strasbourg European Council decides to convene an intergovernmental conference.

15 December
The fourth treaty (Lome IV) between the European Community and 69 countries in Africa, the Caribbean and the Pacific (ACP) is signed in Lome, Togo.

1990 29 May
The Agreement establishing the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development is signed in Paris.

19 June
The Schengen Agreementon the elimination of border checks is signed.

4th July
Cyprus applies to join the Community.

16th July
Malta applies to join the Community.

3rd October
Germany is united once more.

14 December
Two Intergovernmental Conferences, one on Economic and Monetary Union, the other on Political Union, open in Rome.

1991 1st July
Sweden applies to join the Community.

21st October
The Treaty on European Union is signed in Maastricht.

21 October
The Agreement creating a European Economic Area (EEA) is signed by the Community and EFTA
countries .

22 May
Maastricht European Council.

1992 7th February
Treaty on European Union is signed in Maastricht.

18th March
Finland applies to join the Community

23rd May
Switzerland applies to join the Community.

This document isto be updated within the next few days (Ed) 





Back to the top

Why not Bookmark this Page?


To purchase an 80 minute CD of
Churchill's War Time Speeches
(one is given free to new members)


To purchase a Bust of Churchill.

Churchill Bust


(All the profits go towards the society's educational work).

To purchase the Double CD (or Tape Cassette)


Reviews of The Churchill Music.





Internet pages provide general information only.

Whilst we make every endeavour to check our facts, mistakes do occur.

The society cannot be held liable for any special, direct, indirect or consequential damages.

It is your responsibility to verify the accuracy of any information supplied by e mail
or contained on any of these pages.